rudzik8

how to read my name

I've noticed that many English-speaking people struggle with reading stuff written in Polish. for the Russians out there, Микита Вишневский. for everybody else, let's talk about this.

first, Mikita. if you ever read Russian names, you are probably familiar with the name Nikita. but the first letter is different. so, what we get as a result is Mee-key-ta. use this YouTube video as a reference.

second, Wiśniewski. the nearest approximation I can give is to take the Russian form (Вишневский), and just... Vishnevsky. but, if you want to nail it: Vish-ni-eff-ski.

now, let's take a look at my nickname. you won't believe me, but it's also Polish. rudzik! that's a name of the robin bird!

A photo of European Robin sitting on a tree branch, captured by Francis C. Franklin

read it as rude-zeek, but try to read the D-Z part together if you want to nail it. the number part (8) is to be read in your native language, so rude-zeek eight.

there you have it! <3